How do I prevent duplicate files in my Upthere account when using iCloud?

When using iCloud on your Mac or iOS device, you may see duplicate files in Upthere Home if you’re using the “Connect Camera Roll” feature to auto-upload your photos. If this feature is enabled and you take a photo on your iOS device, it’s automatically uploaded to your Upthere account. This can be enabled on your Mac by selecting “Upthere Home” from the top menu, click “Preferences”, then select the checkboxes for each photo source you want to be auto-uploaded.

Meanwhile, if you’re also using iCloud Photo Library, your photos & videos are synched across your devices. This means that some photos & videos you took on your Mac (and already uploaded to Upthere) are downloaded from iCloud — in full resolution — to each iOS device during synch. This iCloud-generated file is then picked up by Upthere and auto-uploaded when “Connect Camera Roll” is enabled on your iOS device. Our system sees the original file you uploaded to Upthere — and the iCloud-generated copy synched to your iOS device — as two unique files, so it keeps both photos.

There are a couple things you can do to prevent this. After you've uploaded your local & iCloud photos to your Upthere account, we recommend that you turn off iCloud Photo Library.

To disable iCloud Photo Library on your iOS device, go to “Settings” > “iCloud” > click “Photos” > toggle the switch at the top of the page. This will delete all temporary local files iCloud created during synch & download. Then if you wish to keep iCloud connected, re-enable iCloud Photo Library in your iCloud settings after deleting the temp files.

To disable iCloud Photo Library on your Mac, check out the demo below:

If you do not wish to turn off iCloud synch on one of your devices, change the setting from “Download and Keep Originals” to “Optimize iPhone Storage”. Going forward, iCloud will download only the lower-resolution thumbnail preview of photos it typically stores on your iOS device. This optimizes storage on your iOS device by not downloading the full resolution. The full resolution photos that the Upthere Home app downloaded will not be stored on your iPhone; they will only be stored in your iCloud account and Upthere account. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us